MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall, Portsmouth on Monday 20 May 2013 at 11.00 am.

Council Members Present

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor Frank Jonas (In the Chair)

Councillors

Park, Mike Adair, Margaret Andrewes, Michael Patev, Jim Bosher, Simon Phillips, Darron Eddis, Peter Purvis, Will Fazackarley, Jason Sanders, Darren Ferrett, John Scott. Eleanor Ferrett, Ken Smith, Phil Foster, Margaret Stagg, Lynne Fuller, David Stevens, Les Gray, Aiden Stockdale, Sandra Hall, Terry Stubbs. Luke

Hancock, Jacqui Vernon-Jackson, Gerald

Horne, David Wemyss, Steve

Hunt, Lee Winnington, Matthew

Jones, Donna Wood, Rob Madden, Leo Wylie, Steven Mason, Hugh Young, Neill

Mason, Lee

34 Vote of Thanks to Retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress

It was jointly proposed by Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson and Councillor Donna Jones

that a vote of thanks be given to the retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress.

The retiring Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress were presented with the Council's gift of an engrossed scroll which signifies the Council's appreciation of their time in office as set out below

It was RESOLVED unanimously

That the Council places on record its sincere thanks to Frank Jonas and Patricia Jonas for their outstanding service to the City as Lord Mayor and Lady Mayoress during their year of office.

That the Council expresses its great appreciation of the fine qualities which Councillor Frank Jonas brought to the conduct of the business of this Council, his devotion to duty, and the distinction and goodwill with which he carried out the many and various duties of the office of Lord Mayor.

That the Council also places on record its gratitude to Mrs Patricia Jonas for the untiring support and help which she has given as Lady Mayoress to the Lord Mayor.

35 Election of Lord Mayor 2013-14

Councillor Hugh Mason nominated Councillor Lynne Stagg for election to the office of Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal year. The nomination was seconded by Councillor Darron Phillips.

There being no other nominations, the Lord Mayor put the proposal, which was carried unanimously, and he declared Councillor Lynne Stagg duly elected Lord Mayor.

Councillor Lynne Stagg then left the Chamber with the retiring Lord Mayor to don the Lord Mayor's robes and the Chain of Office.

36 Investiture of the New Lady Mayoress

Mrs Patricia Jonas, the retiring Lady Mayoress, invested Mrs Anne Taulbut, the new Lady Mayoress, with the Chain of Office, after which the new Lady Mayoress agreed to be guided by the Code of Local Government conduct whilst supporting the Lord Mayor.

This was witnessed by the City Solicitor.

37 New Lord Mayor takes the Chair

Councillor Lynne Stagg took the Chair and thereupon made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office, witnessed by the City Solicitor.

38 Presentation of the Keys of the City

The Lord Mayor received the Keys of the Fortress of Portsmouth presented to her by Lieutenant Colonel Paul Youngman, Defence Diving School.

39 Presentation of the Portsmouth Sword

The Lord Mayor received the Portsmouth Sword which was presented to her by Commander Tim Ash, Royal Navy.

40 Lord Mayor returns thanks to the Council

The Lord Mayor took this opportunity to thank members of the Council for her election and made a short speech on civic affairs.

41 Appointment of Deputy Lord Mayor 2013/14

Councillor Leo Madden nominated Councillor Steven Wylie as the Deputy Lord Mayor for the ensuing municipal year. The nomination was seconded by Councillor Eleanor Scott.

There being no other nominations, the proposal was put to the vote and carried unanimously.

The Deputy Lord Mayor made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Deputy Lady Mayoress, Mrs Elisabeth Wylie was also appointed and agreed to be guided by the Code of Local Government conduct whilst supporting the Deputy Lord Mayor.

This was witnessed by the City Solicitor.

42 Appointment of Chaplain to the City Council

The Dean, the Very Reverend David Brindley, was appointed Chaplain to the City Council.

43 Appointment of the New Lord Mayor Cadets

To support the Lord Mayor in her year in office, a team of cadets will be on hand. Seven cadets were appointed of whom five were present and received a certificate in recognition of their appointment. The remaining two cadets would receive their certificate at a later date.

44 Presentation of Civic Awards

A representative from the Cadets brought forward the Civic Award Badges for presentation.

The Lord Mayor presented Civic Awards to members of the community who had been nominated for their outstanding contribution to the life of the city. The awards were presented to Janice Andrews, Rear Admiral David Bawtree CB DL, Mrs Kathleen Lewis, Mrs Audrey Luke, Mr John Leonard Mason and Commander Eddie Grenfell.

45 Young Person's Civic Award

A representative from the Cadets brought forward the Young Person's Civic Award. This was the first time a Young Person's Civic Award had been presented. Nominations for this award were made by members of the Portsmouth Youth Parliament which represents young people in the city and strives to ensure their voices are heard by decision makers. The introduction of the new Young Person's Civic Award seeks to recognise the work that young people undertake and their contribution to society as a whole. The Lord Mayor presented the Young Person's Civic Award to Mr Ben Dowling.

The meeting adjourned at 12.22 pm, to be re-convened at 2.15 pm.

Lord Mayor